Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Malfunction = Failed action?

Malfunction = Failed action? 3 years 7 months ago #2051

  • MrJack
  • MrJack's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Locust
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 1
Tried hashing out a demo this evening with the old quickstart rules (oof!) and compared them with the new rules. I read you were going to re-do them and had a question. When the malfunction die ends up a "1" (for fighting or shooting)to you continue to resolve the action and then apply the malfunction table result or does the malfunction mean the whole action failed?
Thanks.
It's not a hobby unless I spread myself too thin.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: nasa911

Malfunction = Failed action? 3 years 7 months ago #2054

  • nasa911
  • nasa911's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Rook
  • If it bleads we can kill it.
  • Posts: 337
  • Thank you received: 40
  • Karma: 6
:( I will let Anton know. Those QS rules are old! Hang tight!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Malfunction = Failed action? 3 years 7 months ago #2057

  • jlopatin
  • jlopatin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Overseer
  • Posts: 114
  • Thank you received: 35
  • Karma: 5
Anton will correct me if I am wrong, but if you roll a success the action is successful, even if there is a malfunction. So, let's say you are shooting, and roll a success, and a 1 on the malfunction die... You would resolve the attack, and then roll on the malfunction table.

Let us know if you have any other questions.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: msears, Anton, nasa911

Malfunction = Failed action? 3 years 7 months ago #2060

  • MrJack
  • MrJack's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Locust
  • Posts: 21
  • Thank you received: 3
  • Karma: 1
Ah, good. At least it goes off with only the POTENTIAL of messing your face up. Thanks.
It's not a hobby unless I spread myself too thin.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Malfunction = Failed action? 3 years 7 months ago #2061

  • Anton
  • Anton's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Overseer
  • Posts: 643
  • Thank you received: 177
  • Karma: 12
Josh has got it right.

Unless you're only rolling one die, a malfunction can still result in a successful attack.

If you're only rolling 1 die, a result of 1 will always be a failure.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.135 seconds

Shop Links

Search the Shop

My Cart